Subfloor attachment tips

Home Forums Tiny House Building Tiny House Trailers Subfloor attachment tips

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  banderson1911 2 years, 10 months ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

banderson1911
    Participant

My wife and I have purchased a trailer and are starting on a tiny build. We have been working on layouts for months, and I have drawn up framing sketches, electrical and plumbing plans, and exterior design sketches.
    At this point, we are ready to begin ordering our building materials, but I have not yet decided how to attach the subfloor to the trailer frame. I was planning on a custom trailer when we purchased this trailer used, it was a great deal, but the frame does not exactly match the design I had in mind.
    I am a welder by trade, fabricating a trailer is not anything I have a problem doing but I would like to use the best design possible and wanted to seek out any advice.
    Our trailer is built of two 12″x4″ H-beams running the length of the trailer, with 3″x1.5″ channel crossmembers, and 5″x2″ channel around the perimeter. Hopefully the pictures will provide some clarity.
    My first issue is that I would like to mount the subfloor directly to the main H-beams, to keep the floor as low as possible. Most designs I have seen, however, have steel framing around the perimeter to fasten to, not just fastening to the H-beams in the center.